• Register

8-peat for the SJI Baby Falcons in the NOPSSCEA Basketball 10U Category

one 1823


The St. John’s Institute achieved a rare 8-peat in the 10-Under basketball competition of the NOPSSCEA after dominated Trinity Christian School, 67-38, in the finals Sunday at the University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos Covered Court.


It was also the third title for the Blue Falcons in the NOPSSCEA basketball this year after bagging the junior crown and the elementary championship earlier. 


SJI and TCS arranged a titular showdown after SJI defeated STI-WNU and TCS upset USLS-IS in the semifinals Saturday. 


Led by Zachary Paul Lopez with 36 points, SJI exploded in the second half to show their dominance over Trinity after a shaky start in the first half during the championship. 


Displaying a good team play in the first two quarters, Trinity managed to keep pace with SJI for a 24- all halftime standoff. 


Johnny Estores and Abraham Letran combined for 18 points for Trinity as SJI survived on Lopez’s 17 points. 


As coach Rey Pandoro opted for a trapping defense instead of a man-to-man defense in the second half, SJI started to pull away as TCS’s offense sputtered. 


Lopez , Christian Yap and RJ Rio delivered the needed baskets to give the Baby Falcons a 42-30 lead while Letran scored all of Trinity’s six points in the third quarter. 


The young cagers from SJI sealed the championship as their balanced offensive effectively disarmed TCS. Lopez continued with his all-around performance as he scored his final 12 points in the fourth quarter. 


Backstopping Lopez were Rio with 5 points, AJ Demonteverde, Xavier Tan, Austin Braganza, Christian Yap, Enzo Ramirez with 4 points each, Agustin Braganza, Rafael Abello and Alean Ching with 2 points apiece. 


Letran led TCS with 14 points, Estores added 12, all in the first half, Dylan Despi made 5 points, Cedie Duran, Johfel Deles, Lance Galon had 2 points each and Dlyn Bugalon with a point. 


Other members of the champion SJI 10-Under basketball team were Mark Tsai, Carlos Ferrer, Burj Lapuos, Hans Lagansoa, Christopher Yap, Enzo Ciocon, Dominic Yusay, and Andre Menghnani. 


Also in the lineup of TCS wereeremiah Pomperada, Lhanz Apurada, Jyegan Gayatin , Josh Palma, Pete osano, Francis Paduano, Manasseh Gavilano, and Adrian Mirador.


source: Visayan Daily Star

Quick Links